Saturday, January 12, 2008

Tarentel - 2007 - Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun

"Immediately following the release of their acclaimed 2004 album, We Move Through Weather, Tarentel built on their forward momentum by recording another several hours worth of material, its fate to be determined at a later date. Tarentel don't follow up their albums so much as follow through them. To that end, Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun is more of an exploded view of the world the band has built and un-built for over a decade, each track acting as a map to an increasingly cosmic landscape. Originally released as a limited edition series of vinyl albums, Ghetto Beats is collected here on two CDs - a full two and a half hours of music. It is a sun-baked cluster of ragged rhythms, splintered sound and scorched shimmer. The production is a caustic mix of hi- and lo-fi, creating a strange sense of timelessness, like discovering a black and white photograph of the future. Available in a numbered, limited edition quadruple gatefold jacket, Ghetto Beats On The Surface Of The Sun is a widescreen projection of unspeakable charm and unlikely beauty." ~ Temporary Residence Limited


Disc One:

01. Everybody Fucks With Somebody
02. All Things Vibrations
03. Dreamtigers
04. Ghost Trees
05. Le Trash Can
06. Ghetto Ghosts
07. Sun Place
08. Donkey-Bunny
09. Tied To A Tree In A Jungle Of Mystery
10. Cosmic Dust

Disc Two:

01. Stellar Envelope
02. A Crystal The Size Of Our Moon In The Heart Of A Pulsating White Dwarf
03. Mirrors, Gardens
04. As Quiet As Silentifically Possible
05. Warm Glass
06. Fever Sleep
07. Sleep Map
08. Whistle In The Wires
09. Somebody Fucks With Everybody
10. Where Time Forgot
11. Isalais Delay
12. You Do This. I¹ll Do That.
13. Lake Light