Saturday, October 6, 2007

The Supremes - 1970's - The '70s Anthology

"This two-disc set, running as long as CDs allow, provides a comprehensive look at the second and final decade of the Supremes, the era after lead singer Diana Ross left, when sole original member Mary Wilson juggled personnel changes and struggled with Motown Records and the changing musical times to try to maintain the group's success. She did that with some degree of effectiveness, especially in the first few years. It's apparent that Motown did make some efforts to support the Supremes, providing Smokey Robinson and Stevie Wonder as at least occasional writer/producers, with their old hitmakers — Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, and Edward Holland Jr. — even coming back in toward the end. The result was a batch of hits, including the R&B chart-topper "Stoned Love," through mid-1972. It is not clear why the group had no album releases in 1973 or 1974, and Wilson in her liner notes doesn't seem to know, either. But by the time they returned to recording in 1975, despite the efforts of the Holland brothers and a series of disco-styled recordings that scored in the dance clubs, the old momentum was lost, especially as the lineup changed, with lead singer Jean Terrell giving way to Scherrie Payne, and the Supremes disbanded in 1977. On the hits, select album tracks, and some revealing previously unreleased material, one can hear the group's development. Their versions of well-known songs by others — Stephen Stills' "Love the One You're With," Joni Mitchell's "All I Want," Bread's "Make It With You," the Jackson 5's "Never Can Say Goodbye" — are illuminating, and hits like "Up the Ladder to the Roof" and "Floy Joy" hold up well. The later editions of the Supremes may not rank with the Diana Ross-led '60s version, but this collection demonstrates that they had their own appeal." ~ AMG


CD. 1

01. Up the Ladder to the Roof
02. Everybody's Got the Right to Love
03. The Loving Country
04. Life Beats
05. Together We Can Make Sweet Music
06. Stoned Love
07. It's Time To Break Down
08. River Deep - Mountain High(with the Four Tops)
09. Nathan Jones
10. Touch
11. Function at the Junction
12. Love the One You're With
13. Oh My Poor Baby
14. Make It With You
15. I'll Let Him Know That I Love Him
16. Never Can Say Goodbye
17. Walk With Me, Talk With Me Darling"
18. Floy Joy
19. Automatically Sunshine
20. Your Wonderful, Sweet Sweet Love
21. When Can Brown Begin
22. I Keep It Hid

CD. 2

01. All I Want
02. I Guess I'll Miss the Man
03. Bad Weather
04. Love Train
05. The Sha-La Bandit
06. It's All Been Said Before
07. He's My Man
08. Give Out, But Don't Give Up
09. Where Do I Go From Here
10. Bend a Little
11. Can We Love Again
12. High Energy
13. I'm Gonna Let My Heart Do the Walking
14. You're What's Missing In My Life
15. Don't Let My Teardrops Bother You
16. There's Room at the Top
17. You're My Driving Wheel
18. Let Yourself Go
19. Love I Never Knew You Could Feel So Good
20. We Should Be Closer Together