Saturday, September 1, 2007

Otis Rush - 1956-1958 - Essential Collection: The Classic Cobra Recordings

"The Essential Otis Rush: Classic Cobra Recordings contains 75 minutes of some of the toughest Chicago blues ever committed to wax. Rush has cut a lot of great music in his forty plus year career but these sides rank as his greatest. The sheer emotional weight of Rush's searing guitar and vocals are tough to match on all time classics like "I Can't Quit You Baby", "My Love Will Never Die", "All Your Love" and "It Takes Time." In addition to the sixteen studio cuts are eight alternate takes and it's a tribute to Rush's genius that the alternate takes, of which the extended "Double Trouble" is a good example, may even be more intense that the issued takes. This one belongs in every blues collection." ~ Bad Dog Blues

1. I Can't Quit You Baby
2. Sit Down Baby
3. Violent Love
4. My Love Will Never Die
5. Groaning The Blues
6. If You Were Mine
7. Love That Woman
8. Jump Sister Bessie
9. Three Times A Fool
10. She's A Good 'Un
11. It Takes Time
12. Checking On My Baby
13. Double Trouble
14. Keep On Loving Me Baby
15. All Your Love [I Miss Loving]
16. My Baby Is A Good 'Un
17. I Can't Quit You Baby [Take 3]
18. Sit Down Baby
19. Groaning The Blues [Take 3]
20. My Love Will Never Die [Take Unknown]
21. She's A Good 'Un [Take 4]
22. Three Times A Fool [Take Unknown]
23. Double Trouble [Take 3]
24. Sit Down Baby [Take Unknown]