Saturday, August 11, 2007

Nobody - 2006 - Revisions Revisions The Remixes 2000-2005

"Revisions Revisions is a collection of remixes that Los Angeles based producer Nobody (Elvin Estela) has completed in the last 5 years. Between albums for a diverse group of labels such as Ubiquity, Mush and Plug Research, Nobody faced many a deadline in completing remixes for various artists from across the world. This collection of remixes reflects a broad range of musical styles that Nobody has dabbled in throughout his career, from the vintage 60’s softpsych of The Free Design to the underground hiphop of LA based MC Busdriver.

Nobody’s debut Soulmates (2000) was the album Elvin had been making all his life - the best bit of beats he had made in his bedroom combined with fresh new tracks he did with the cream of the LA underground. From these roots, Nobody still claims hip-hop as his first love, and is always willing to lend a hand to his peers when called on. Build an Ark’s “Always There” ode to great, lost jazz musicians is turned into a tribute from Sach to his former partner in rhyme Yusef Afloat. Busdriver’s “Unemployed Black Astronaut” becomes the theme to finding a home in outer space. Ellay Khule is called on to offer a different point of view on Adventure Time’s “Whetting Whistles.” Instrumental hip-hop artists Presto and Ill Suono get their tunes redone with a new palette of samples and melodies. More than just supplying a different track for the original, Nobody always seeks to support the message and meaning of the song with it’s prefect sonic partner.

With the release of Pacific Drift (2003), Nobody entered new territory, twisting the sounds of 60’s psych into something that was half dissonant pop and half hip-hop banger. This intriguing sound eventually attracted the ears of various bands and labels, all interested in hearing Nobody’s take on their music. The Free Design’s dark and mysterious “Girl’s Alone” is transformed into an instrumental cover, with Ikey Owens (Mars Volta) faithfully reproducing the song’s soaring melodies. Mia Doi Todd’s “Autumn” sounds like a lost outtake from the Pacific Drift sessions.

Electronic indie acts Her Space Holiday, Clue to Kalo, Pepe California and The Postal Service get their glitchy electronics swept from under their feet and find themselves afloat sparse bangers with their own melodies turning in on it’s self. Nobody even tackled a full on rock song, courtesy of Domino Records’ Clearlake, and turned their Jesus and Mary Chain wash into a stabbing 60’s freakbeat anthem.

Although these remixes span several years and reflect changes in Nobody’s sound and direction, Nobody made sure that they form a cohesive whole when presented as an album. Revisions Revisions takes in 5 years of different artists, styles and sounds and unites them under Nobody’s vision of “psychdelia for hip-hop kids and hip-hop for psychedelic kids”." ~ Plug Reseach

Track Listing:
(All versions below are remixes by Nobody, these are not the original versions.)

1. Ill Suono - A Moment of Sympathy
2. Pepe California Guadalupe
3. Busdriver - Unemployed Black Astronaut
4. Her Space Holiday - From South Carolina
5. Mia Doi Todd - Autumn
6. The Free Design - Girl’s Alone (with Ikey of The Mars Volta)
7. The Postal Service - Be Still My Heart
8. Clearlake - Good Clean Fun
9. Build An Ark - Always There (with Sach)
10. Clue to Kalo - When Tommy Fixes Fights
11. Presto - Relax
12. Adventure Time - Whetting Whistles (with Pigeon John & Ellay Khule)
13. Phil Ranelin - Vibes From The Tribe