Saturday, August 18, 2007

Comets on Fire - 2006 - Avatar

"After 2004’s critically acclaimed Blue Cathedral, one might have expected Comets on Fire to blast off into the cosmos in an infinite flurry of lysergic spasmodicism. Surprising, then, that they should turn in an earthy, more accessible and downright beautiful album as their follow-up. Then again, it is a completely logical progression, but in reverse, sort of. On Avatar their astonishing new album, Comets display development in every direction: as musicians, as songwriters, as arrangers and as singers (?!), without sacrificing one ounce of the intensity that is expected from our heroes. As on Blue Cathedral, the diversity of the material is staggering. Avatar veers from swinging, bluesy explorations to piano-laced, progressive power balladry, to pure tribalism, evoking everyone from the Allmans, to Quicksilver, to Procol Harum, to some insane Fela/Sun Ra/Crazy Horse hybrid, yet remains wholly Comets on Fire. Though they play cleaner and clearer, their firepower is evident and abundant. They have shifted gears and opened themselves up completely. You should do the same." ~ Sub Pop Records

Label: Sub Pop Records
Catalog#: SPCD 704
Released: 2006
Credits: Artwork By [Album Art, Layout] - Comets , Jeff Kleinsmith
Bass, Guitar [Baritone], Organ [Hammond] - Ben Flashman
Drums - Noel Von Harmonson (tracks: 3, 6, 7)
Drums, Piano - Utrillo Kushner
Electronics [Echo], Organ [Hammond] - Noel Von Harmonson
Guitar [Electric, Baritone], Acoustic Guitar - Ben Chasny
Lyrics By - Ethan Miller (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5) , Utrillo Kushner (tracks: 3, 7)
Mastered By - JJ Golden
Recorded By - Tim Green (2)
Vocals, Guitar [Electric] - Ethan Miller
Notes: Recorded at Prairie Sun Studios, Cotati and Louder Studios in San Francisco, California in January-April of 2006.
Mastered at Golden Mastering.

1 Dogwood Rust (7:48)
2 Jaybird (6:08)
3 Lucifer's Memory (7:03)
4 The Swallow's Eye (6:53)
5 Holy Teeth (2:59)
6 Sour Smoke (8:47)
7 Hatched Upon The Age (6:08)